Blue Raincoat Theatre Company
Blue Raincoat Theatre Company is a professional ensemble based at The Factory Performance Space. The company produce between four and six professional productions every year, with an emphasis on staging modern European classics, new writing and new adaptations for stage. The company tour each of these productions throughout Ireland and internationally.
Address - The Factory Performance Space, Lower Quay Street, Sligo
W - www.blueraincoat.com/
P - 00353 (0) 71 917 0431
The Abbey lies on the eastern shore of Lough Arrow. Inside the ruins of a 14th century Dominican Abbey there is an interesting monument to Terence McDonough. It is entirely built in the Middle English Gothic style.
Address - Ballymote, County Sligo
P – 00353 71 9161201
Coleman Music Centre
Centre for the enjoyment, further understanding and learning of traditional music and Irish culture that includes a visitor centre, archive and traditional cottage.
Address: Coleman Irish Music Centre, Gurteen, Sligo
W - www.colemanirishmusic.com/
P - 00353 71 918 2599
The poet William Butler Yeats and his brother, the artist Jack Butler Yeats, spent their summer holidays at Elsinore House, in Rosses Point. A smuggler known as “Black Jack” built the house in the 1830s and it was later purchased by William Middleton, Yeats’s grand-uncle. In later life, the poet recalled stories of secret tunnels and buried treasure that had thrilled him as a child. Unfortunately the house has fallen into disrepair but well worth a visit.
Address - Rosses Point , Sligo
Hawk’s Well Theatre
One of Sligo’s finest attributes, the theatre is one of the oldest regional theatres in the country and still remains as alive and as active in the Irish arts scene as ever. Check out our events links for all upcomming events.
Address - The Hawk's Well Theatre , Temple Street , Sligo
W - www.hawkswell.com/
P – 00353 71 9161518
The site of Sligo Abbey contains a great wealth of carvings including Gothic and Renaissance tomb sculpture, well preserved cloisters and the only sculptured 15th century high altar to survive in any Irish monastic church.
Known locally as the ‘Abbey’, it survives from the medieval days. Built by Maurice Fitzgerald for the Dominicans in 1252 and was accidentally burnt down in 1414, when a candle left carelessly in the building set it on fire, and it was further damaged during the 1641 rebellion. Legend says that worshippers saved the Abbey’s silver bell which was thrown into Lough Gill and only those free from sin can hear it peal.
Access to site through Visitor Centre. Restricted access to site for visitors with disabilities.
30th March – 8th October: Daily 10.00-18.00
Last admission 45 mins before closing
Average length of visit: 1 hour
Address - Abbey Street, Sligo Town
W - www.heritageireland.ie/en/North-west/sligoabbey
P - 00353 71 9146406
Sligo County Museum
At the Sligo County Museum you can find The Yeats Room which is full of manuscripts, photographs, letters and newspaper cuttings associated with the local poet William Butler Yeats including a copy of his 1923 Nobel Prize winning medal and a complete collection of his poems from 1889 to 1936.
Also in the museum you will see paintings by Irish artists George Russell, Sean Keating and Jack. B. Yeats, brother of the poet William Butler Yeats.
There is also a display of artefacts and memorabilia associated with Countess Constance Markievicz and her sister Eva Gore-Booth. The museun also contains a fascinating collection of exhibits detailing Sligo’s rich stone-age history, including a large firkin of 100-year-old bog butter
Opening Hours: October to April: 9.30am to 12.30pm Tuesday to Saturday
May-September: 9.30am to 12.30pm and 2pm to 4.50pm Tuesday to Saturday
Closed Sundays and Mondays.
Address - Stephen Street, Sligo
W - www.sligococo.ie/Services/Countylibrary/countymuseum
P – 00353 71 9111679
Sligo Folk Park
Sligo Folk Park is located in the beautiful village of Riverstown, in South County Sligo. This community based attraction provides a true experience of rural life and Irish heritage at the turn of the late 19th century. The Folk Park is set in the grounds of the authentically restored Millview House, which was originally built in 1873 by George Reid, a farmer, shoemaker and church sexton. One of the highlights is the Village Street, a recreated street scape consisting of a creamery store, grocery shop and pub.
Address - Riverstown, Sligo
W - www.sligofolkpark.com
P – 00353 71 9165001
Sligo Race Course is a right-handed track situated on 56 acres overlooking Ben Bulben .Flat and National Hunt Racing.
Where to find the Racecourse:
Take Exit S2 off the N4 and follow directions for Sligo and continue along the Pearse Road taking the 3rd right and travel 600mts and arrive at Racecourse
Address - County Sligo Races, Cleveragh, , Sligo
W - www.countysligoraces.com/
P - 00353 71 9162484
The Model Arts Centre
The Model, home of The Niland Collection, is one of Ireland’s leading contemporary arts centres with works by Jack B. Yeats as well as his wife and sister.
The building boasts a wonderful gallery circuit, a cafe, cinema, a bookshop, music and performance space, and a suite of impressive artist studios on the top floor with enviable views of Sligo town and County. The Niland Collection is one of Ireland’s most significant public art collections. Begun by Nora Niland in 1959, the collection features work by many of Ireland’s most acclaimed twentieth century artists. The collection has a particular focus on the northwest of Ireland and features many artists who are linked to the area through birth, family or subject matter including Jack B Yeats, Patrick Collins, Sean McSweeney, Patrick Hall and Nick Miller.
In 2002 a further 30 works of Irish art were generously lent on a long-term basis by the collector Jobst Graeve. The Graeve Collection has a particular focus on works from the 1970s, 80s and 90s, many of which are political in theme.
Taken as a whole the two collections number almost 300 drawings, paintings, sculptures, and prints, and present a fascinating overview of Irish life in the twentieth century.
Address - The Model , The Mall, Sligo
W - www.themodel.ie
P - 00353 71 914 1405
W. B. Yeats Statue
A must see in Sligo is the bronze statue of William Butler Yeats located outside the Ulster bank on Stephen Street in Sligo, created by Rohan Gillespie.
Yeats’ son, Michael, unveiled it in 1989 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of his death. The statue is engraved with excerpts of the poet’s most famous works.
Address - Stephen Street, Sligo
W.B. Yeats Grave at Drumcliffe Graveyard
Irish poet Willain Butler Yeats chose this peaceful churchyard at Drumcliffe in County Sligo as his final resting place, with it’s stunning location at the foot of Benbulben mountain. The graveyeard has the remains of a round tower and a high cross constructed in the 11th when there was a Christian monastery on site. The monastery was founded by Saint Columcille (Columba) in 574.
Drumcliffe Tea House and Craft Shop offers good wholesome food together with mouth-watering home-made cakes and desserts. There is a selection of Yeats and Irish Interest Books to browse through, complimented by a distinctive selection of original quality Crafts. Enjoy cheerful service and a relaxed atmosphere with convenient, free parking. Open daily all year round. Accessible to all.
Saint Columcille, is also commenerated here with a statue located in the church yard.There is also a cafe and gallery located on the grounds and large car park.
Address - Drumcliffe, Sligo
Yeats Memorial Building and Art Gallery
On Hyde Bridge is the Yeats Building a beautiful 19th century red brick building, the home of the Yeats Society Sligo, which exists to support local community art and to promote the Yeats Heritage in Sligo.
This building is now the Headquarters of the international Yeats Society, from which the Society keeps in contact with members all over the world, and from where the Yeats International Summer School and Winter School are administered, as well as the day-to-day running of the Society. A permanent Exhibition attracts visitors throughout the year, and there is also a fine Library
Address - Hyde Bridge, Sligo ,
W - www.yeats-sligo.com/
P - 00353 71 9145847